Media Release

QEH announces finalists in Team QEH Awards 2021 and invites public to vote

QEH announces finalists in Team QEH Awards 2021 and

The Queen Elizabeth Hospital King’s Lynn (QEH) is encouraging patients, their families and members of the local community to vote for the winners in its annual staff awards, as it announces its 2021 finalists.

The Team QEH Awards recognise outstanding care, kindness and innovation at the Trust, with 15 awards available to celebrate individuals and teams who have gone the extra mile.

Two categories are open for public vote including:

1. The We Care Award – which recognises an individual who consistently displays a positive attitude towards their work, delivering outstanding patient-centred care

2. The Non-Clinical Team of the Year Award – which recognises a team that has made an outstanding difference to colleagues by providing a support service that enables the smooth running of the organisation

To vote, click here. Voting closes 27 September 2021.

Other awards which will be presented during the Team QEH Awards include: Volunteer of the Year, Patient Safety Champion Award, Non-Clinical Team of the Year, Leader of the Year, Growing our Own, Behind the Scenes, Allied Health Professional of the Year, the Award for Outstanding Achievement in Education or Research and the Chairman’s Award for Developing Against the Odds. These awards were nominated by colleagues at the Trust.

The awards will be presented at an event to be held mid-November 2021, restrictions permitting.

Caroline Shaw CBE, Chief Executive at QEH, commented: “The Team QEH Awards is my favourite event of the year. Being able to highlight the commitment and dedication of our staff and those who consistently go above and beyond to give exceptional care to our patients and their families is so important and it makes me incredibly proud of our fantastic workforce at QEH this year more than any other given the challenges we have faced and more than risen to a Trust.”

​”I’d like to encourage our local community to get involved and take part in the voting process – the links can also be found on our website homepage or via our social media channels.”

The full list of the 2021 finalists is:

The We Listen Award

Samantha Fisher – Clinical Nurse Educator, Corporate Nursing

Tracy Fuller – Research Nurse

Amanda-Jane Weir – Head of Staff Engagement

The We Act Award

Christine Blake – Deputy Sister/Charge Nurse, Cardiology

Keith Sainsbury – Admin Officer, Site Management Team

Jane Wolfe – Uro-Gynae Specialist Nurse, Brancaster

The We Care Award

Sunil Anthrayose – Assistant Theatre Practitioner

Mr Salman Kidwai – Consultant, Obstetrics

Dhanoop Mohandas – CT, Gastroenterology

The Patient Safety Champion Award

Helen Parriss – Specialist Physiotherapist, Women’s Health

Mike Albert – Deteriorating Patient Project Lead, Critical Care Outreach

Mandy Coventry – Sister/Charge Nurse, Cancer Unit

The Clinical Team of the Year Award

Research and Development Team

Clinical Psychology Team

Speech and Language Therapy Team

The Non-Clinical Team of the Year Award

Domestic Services

Portering Team

Hospital Information System Team

The Volunteer of the Year Award

This award will be announced later in the year.

The Leader of the Year Award

Joanne Burrell – Consultant Psychologist

Sally Butlin – Matron, Community Paediatrics

Kit King – Team Leader, Neonatal Intensive Care Unit

The Allied Health Professional of the Year Award

Ella-Louise Benning – Speech and Language Therapist

Joules Lodge – Specialist Phsiotherapist, Caridac Rehabilitation

Scott Ablett – Specialist Physiotherapist, Elderly Medicine and Rehabilitation

The Education and Research Award

Paul Bridges – Practice Development Facilitator, Theatres

Mr Salman Kidwai – Consultant, Obstetrics

Tom Holmes – Clinical Nurse Educator, Corporate Nursing

The Inclusion Champion Award

Samuel Jude – Clinical Nurse Educator, Terrington Ward

Alyson Lacey – General Manager, and Katrina Miller – Secretarial Manager, Vaccination Programme (joint nomination)

Karen Wilson – Family Liaison Officer

The Growing our Own Award

Emma Staples – Senior Operating Department Practitioner

Shirley Cooper – Radiographer

Carrieanne Davies – Resourcing Administrator

The Behind the Scenes Award

Louise Wright – Senior Support Manager, Women and Children

Claire Garrod – Medical Secretary

Kelly Wells – HSA/Machine Operator, Domestic Services

The Living Our Values Outstanding Contribution Award

Nilgiri Kerketta – Speciality Doctor, ENT

Sophie Hawes – Healthcare Assistant, Stanhoe Ward

Trudy Taylor – Head of Business Support

The Chairman’s Award for Developing Against the Odds

Roger Fisher – Clinical Site Manager

Jamie Brown – Assistant Practitioner, Radiology

Emma Brancham – Senior Maternity Support Worker


For further information or for an interview with Caroline Shaw, Chief Executive, or Jo Humphries, Director of People, please contact

To download the press release and photos here.